Dragon Hooded Towel

Noah loved his dragon hat so much, I wanted to make him something else for his birthday.  I found this tutorial from Crazy Little Projects.

I used Heat n’ Bond Lite on some cotton fabric.  Then cut out the eyes on my Silhouette.  So easy to get perfect applique shapes!

WP_20131114_22_01_55_ProWP_20131114_22_04_30_ProNext I ironed the eyes onto the towel and then did a short zig zag stitch around the edges.  This was my first time doing this – a little harder with the black circle.WP_20131114_22_43_04_ProWP_20131114_22_40_38_ProWP_20131114_22_40_31_Pro

I did the teeth with white felt and I made spikes with a white face towel.  Sewing the hood onto the main part of the towel was tough for my machine.  I ended up breaking a needle when trying to sew over the many layers where it was pleated.  I think next time I’ll just pleat it without all the layers somehow.

I can’t wait to see him try it on.

 WP_20131115_00_25_16_Pro

Leave a Reply

