New Mom Gift Set

One of my good friends Melanie is a new mom.  Her favorite color is green and she loves Hawaiian stuff so I made her a nursing cover and matching changing pad.  This would be a great idea for a baby shower gift!

For the nursing cover (a.k.a. Hooter Hider), I just measured an existing one from someone else.  There’s a ton of tutorials on Pinterest too.  All you need are fabric, D-rings and some boning.  An extra touch was I added some minky fabric to the bottom corner.  I’ve been told it’s really handy to have that to wipe your baby’s mouth after feeding.
For the changing pad, I bought some Pellon Vinyl Fuse and ironed that onto the right side of the fabric I intended to be the inside.  I thought this would be good for wiping off any spills.
Pellon Vinyl Fuse
Then I just sewed it with the right sides facing (leaving a small opening), turned and top stitched around.

Leave a Reply

